Thing 20: Social Reading & Book Stuff

For this “Thing” I created Reading Bingo boards.  There were a lot of interesting topics I looked into before choosing to create the Reading Bingo Boards.  I really liked the International Children’s Digital Library.  I’m going to bring this up to our ELL teachers.  It might be helpful for her and some of the families she works with.  In addition, I really liked the daybydayny.org website.  I currently hang a monthly reading activity calendar outside the library by Reading is Fundamental which the website refers to.  However, I got the idea of including a list of picture books relevant to the month into the library newsletter.  I hadn’t thought of including just a simple books into the newsletter before.  Also, the daily read aloud is nice too.  Upon looking at each of the different states which utilize daybyday.org platform each offers a different read aloud for the day.  What I really liked about NY was parents wouldn’t need to do anything other than press play.  For some of the states parents would need to know how to login which require them to get the access information from their public library.

I also looked into 100 New Year’s Reading Resolutions by Scholastic which is what got me into creating the Reading Bingo Boards. I’ve always wanted to create a Reading Bingo board as a fun way to promote reading however, I just never sat down and did it. I used the knowledge I’m gaining with Google Docs to create two versions of Reading Bingo one for younger students and another for older students.  I can’t wait to go to school on Monday and start promoting the Reading Bingo.  I still need to work out what will happen with students who complete a line on the bingo board.  I like students to be intrinsically motivated however, this isn’t going to work for everyone. Click here to see the boards I created.

One thought on “Thing 20: Social Reading & Book Stuff

  1. READO!! What a great name for the bingo boards! NICE WORK! And glad to hear the NYS Daybyday site is useful. The NYSL hired me to create the site years ago. I’ve always loved the content and hope that it gets used.

    Like

Leave a comment