Thing 28: Anything Goes Google

I really am enjoying the abundance of “Things” related to Google. To start I browsed through the class site and read a few articles.  I focused on Google Keep as I have never heard of it.  What I like about Google Keep is the ability to color code and/or label notes to keep them organized.  I also liked the geo reminder.  There have been a lot of times I say the next time we’re at X I need to remember something.  Google Keep will help remind me of something while I am there!  Here I go I’m going to create notes and reminders in Google Keep.  Uh-oh there is only a slight problem I don’t see it and I didn’t think about downloading it until I started writing this blog.

I see Google Sites so let me explore this tool. I am proud to say I created a website!  I browsed the internet and found some information.  First I had to determine what it was and then how to use it.  Through some trial and error I was able to create a website with a sub page, pictures, and text.  I really like this a lot.  I still have a lot of questions regarding this though.  For instance, am I given access to it because I’m a teacher?  Can the students create their own websites?  How many websites or pages can I create?  I think this would be idea for me as a librarian to create websites for the major areas of learning in the library.  Then the information the students need is all in one location.   Now one could say you can do that with Google Classroom too.  However, I’m thinking this can be set up once and it’s done all students can have access to it.  From what I’ve learned about Google Classroom I have to create the classes each year as they aren’t automatically in there for me since I am not a classroom teacher.  When I published my website it had an ability to let others edit your page.  I wonder if this could be used by students to comment on books read to create an interactive dialogue about good books.  Again, I understand there are other platforms specifically for this purpose.  However, if it can be put in one place without requiring a username/password it would be much easier.  The more I play around with it the more I’ll learn.  I looked at “The New Pillars” website created using Google Sites and they were able to do a bit more with it.  I was impressed with the search bar they added.

This is by far my favorite Google Suite application to date! I think the possibilities for this are endless.

Just in Case…  If you can’t access the link via the link above try this one instead.  Click on 54 Flower City School.  Then scroll down to the toward the bottom on the right look for the category Libraries.  Then under libraries click on Library Website.  It should take you to the site I created.

2 thoughts on “Thing 28: Anything Goes Google

  1. Terrific! Your link to the library website worked fine. I haven’t played with the new version of google sites very much. Also I’m not in a school version of the Google Apps Suite. So I’m not sure of the answers to the questions you have. Your school IT folks will surely know. I do hope it’s available to your students. A great way for them to present information and create portfolios.

    Like

Leave a comment